The Empire to Commonwealth Project

UK Government

A selection of defaced ensigns used by HM's Government:





 HM Revenue and Customs

 Department of Environmental Foods and Rural Affiars

 DTI - Board & Trade

 UK Government Service Ensign





 Consular Offices Aflloat

Department of Transport 

Ministry of War Munitions 

Civil Defence 





 Commissioner of Northern Lighthouses

 War Department

 Northern Lights Lighthouses

 Scottish Executive Department for Rural Affairs





South Wales Sea Fisheries 

 UK Border Agency

General Officer Afloat 

 HM Coastguard




 Eastern Sea Fisheries

 North Wales & North West Sea Fisheries

Irish Lights 

 Ocean Weather Ships


Back to the Top

Back to Defaced Ensigns Index


 UK Government

 UK Armed Forces

Training Ships 

 Yacht Clubs


New Zealand 

 To Flags Chapter

 UK Civil

 Ireland before independence